Education Latest

178 Graduands Makes First Degrees As Fashola, Obaseki, Others Set To Receive University of Benin Honorary Degrees

Written by Pyramid FM Kano

By: Fortune Oyem

A total of Fourteen thousand, two hundred and fifty-four graduands of the 2020/2021 academic session will be conferred with first degrees, diplomas and Certificates in all the Faculties and Schools of the University.

They include one hundred and seventy eight, First Class graduands, four thousand, three hundred and fifty three
Second Class Upper graduands and eight thousand, six hundred and even graduands among others.

At the Post-graduate level, the University Senate approved a total Four thousand and forty-five results which comprise of five hundred and Forty-five Doctor of Philosophy Degrees and two thousand,six hundred and ninety- seven
Masters Degrees with eight hundred and four Post-graduate Diplomas.

Vice Chancellor, University of Benin, Professor Lilian Salami stated this at a press briefing with News men in Benin city, the Edo State Capital ahead of the forty eight Convocation and fifty three founders day ceremony of the university.

Professor Salami said this year’s Convocation begins expectedly with the founders’ Day activities on Thursday the 23rd of November and the day will feature:

(a) Inter-faith Service starting at nine O’clock in the morning.

(b) The Founders’ Day and Convocation Lecture will follow at 11:00 O’clock. The Lecture is titled: ‘Governance and Crisis of Development in Nigeria’. It is to be delivered by Professor Mike Kwanashie, a former Vice Chancellor of Veritas University, Abuja.

There will be command performance and presentation of the Vice Chancellor’s Awards thereafter.

On Friday 24th November, there will be Award of First Degrees, Diplomas, Certificates and Presentation of Prizes.
The 48th Convocation will climax on Saturday 25th November with Award of Higher Degrees, Postgraduate Diplomas and the Conferment of others.

She explained that, Honorary degrees on some eminent personalities and those to receive the University’s prestigious and coveted honorary degrees are: Chief Charles Owensuyi – Edosomwan, S A N, – Doctor of Laws, Honoris Causa.

His Excellency, Babatunde Raji Fashola, S A N – Doctor of Laws, Honoris Causa Her Excellency, Mrs. Betsy Obaseki – Doctor of Business Administration, Honoris Causa Mr. Olukayode Dotun – Adegbulugbe – Doctor of Science, Honoris Causa Mr. Osaro Isokpan – Doctor of Business Administration, Honoris Causa Engr. Gbenga Olu Komolafe – Doctor of Science, Honoris Causa and Pharmacist Paul Enebeli – Doctor of Science, Honoris Causa.

Professor Salami explained that, four of the honourees are illustrious Alumni of the University of Benin, who have been exemplary in serving the University and the country.

While congratulating all the graduands and urge them to fly the University’s flag higher, the Vice Chancellor added that the accomplishments could not have been achieved without the commitment of staff and the deliberate efforts by Management to put in place requisite academic infrastructure that have ensured that graduates of the University of Benin continue to shine and to positively influence their world.

Leave a Comment