INEC To Conduct Re-run Elections In 34 Constituencies

Written by Admin


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC is to conduct re run elections next February in 34 Constituencies as ordered by the Election Petition Appeal Tribunal.

INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu who stated this during an extraordinary consultative meeting with Political Parties said the re-run was the aftermath of litigations from this year’s general election.

The Chairman said the meeting was to brief party leaders on the rerun elections arising from Court orders and fill vacancies following death or resignation of members of the National Assembly and State houses of Assembly.

The re-run elections in 34 Constituencies made up of one Senatorial District, Eleven Federal Constituencies and Twenty Two State Assembly Constituencies.

Professor Mahmood Yakubu urged leaders of political parties to conduct fresh primaries within the limited period provided by law

The INEC Chairman assured that at the end of litigations pending at the supreme court, the commission would present a comprehensive analysis of the petitions.

Leave a Comment